Saturday, July 2, 2011

Lenin Raghuvanshi

Antwort: Weimar: City Council gives Human Rights Prize 2010 to Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi of India

Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2010 14:37:52 +0200
Subject: WG: Antwort: Weimar: City Council gives Human Rights Prize 2010 to Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi of India

Dear Lenin,

it is with great joy and indeed excitement and pride that I learn about the City of Weimar's decision to award you with its Human Rights Prize 2010!! I would like to congratulate you most cordially, also on behalf of the Foundation's team in New Delhi and my colleagues here at our Head Office in Potsdam.

This prize is a sincere recognition of your upright and steadfast work for marginalized and unprotected sections of society that you have been engaged in for many years now. We are proud that we were able to cooperate with you and your organization in the framework of the Anti-Torture-Project, and personally I am grateful for the open and constructive way in which you pursued our common goals and objectives in the struggle for greater freedom and justice. I hope and wish that you, together with your team and all like-minded colleagues, will be able to continue your important work for many years to come.

As you will know, I have meanwhile left the country in order to take up a new position as Regional Director of my Foundation for Central, Southeast & Eastern Europe, Southern Caucasus and Central Asia in Sofia. I am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to bid farewell personally, but I am sure that some day our paths will cross again.

All the best to you and your family, and lots of success in your work,

with warm regards

René Klaff

Dr. René Klaff
Regional Director South Asia
Friedrich Naumann-Stiftung  für die Freiheit
India and Regional Office, South Asia
USO House, 1st Floor
6, Special Institutional Area, New Delhi 110067, India

Tel.:  +91.11.2686-2064
Tel.:  +91.11.2686-3846
Fax.: +91.11.2686-2042, schrieb: -----

An: "shabana:PVCHR" <>
Von: PVCHR <>
Gesendet von:
Datum: 30.06.2010 12:51
Betreff: Weimar: City Council gives Human Rights Prize 2010 to Dr. Lenin      Raghuvanshi of India


Weimar: City Council gives Human Rights Prize 2010 to Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi of India

Posted on 2010/06/29

The City Council announced in its session of 23rd June, 2010 that it will give the Human Rights Prize of the City of Weimar 2010 to Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi of India. Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi has been working for 15 years for the rights and interests of the Dalits, primarily in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh.

Extract from citation for City of Weimar Human Rights Prize

As the founder of the Peoples' Vigilance Committee on Human Rights ( PVCHR ), he strove to maintain and enforce the fundamental rights of vulnerable groups such as children, women , Dalits and indigenous minorities.

Dr. Raghuvanshi with his committee put in place structures that allow it to demand these basic rights. He also documented many kinds of human rights such as starvation, police torture, child labor, etc., and tried through cooperation with local human rights groups to care for the victims individually.

Because of their commitment to human rights are he, his family and associates face permanent hostility (including death threats ) from political opponents. Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi was proposed for this Award by the "Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom".

The city of Weimar has the honour to remember its special historical responsibility and remember all the nameless victims of dictatorships and tyrannies in the world, a human rights award.

Weimar is a city in Germany famous for its cultural heritage. Weimar's cultural heritage is vast. It is most often recognised as the place where Germany's first democratic constitution was signed after the First World War, giving its name to the Weimar Republic period in German politics, of 1918–1933. However, the city was also the focal point of the German Enlightenment and was where writers Goethe and Schiller developed the literary movement of Weimar Classicism. The city was also the birthplace of the Bauhaus movement, founded in 1919 by Walter Gropius, with artists Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Oskar Schlemmer, and Lyonel Feininger teaching in Weimar's Bauhaus School.

Previous Winners of the Weimar Human Rights Prize include Sonja Biserko of Serbia, Jestina Mukoko of Zimbabwe and Father Shay Cullen from the Philippines.